Joey Travolta headlines 27th Annual Advocacy Awards

Joey Travolta
Joey Travolta

“In high school, I was always the protector of kids with special needs,” said Joey Travolta, the keynote speaker at the 27th annual  Advocacy Awards and Volunteer Recognition event scheduled for Dec. 7, 2017 at the Marriott Hotel Southern Hills in Tulsa.

That protective instinct became a motivating force in shaping Joey’s future career choices. He went on to earn a degree in special education and became a special education teacher. Born into a show business family, Joey, older brother of John, became a performer in 1978 as a recording artist with Casablanca Records and then stared in several feature films.

He has directed and produced more than 20 films, including the documentary Normal People Scare Me, while mentoring a 15-year-old boy with autism who directed the film. In 2007, Joey founded Inclusion Films which involves individuals with special needs in the process of making films.

Joey will share his passion for helping students with  intellectual and developmental disabilities develop self-esteem, confidence, and creativity through acting and digital film making.

In December 2016, more than 200 volunteers, professionals, and others who advocate for and serve people with developmental disabilities from across Oklahoma gathered to celebrate the 26th Annual Advocacy Awards and Volunteer Recognition event.

Advocacy Award winners in 2016 were: Advocate – Case Manager of the Year-Samuel Graham; Advocate – Direct Care Provider of the Year -Tracy Coody; Advocate – Educator of the Year-Dr. Linda Wilson; Advocate – Professional Provider of the Year-Dr. Don Hamilton; Advocate – Volunteer of the Year-RoseAnn Duplan; Self-Advocate of the Year-Dwayne Boyd; Parent – Advocate of the Year-Heather Pike; Special Achievement in Advocacy – Individual-Kathleen Bratton-Batts; Special Achievement in Advocacy – Group-Youth Philanthropy Initiative – Cohort 7; Media – Advocate of the Year-Tulsa World; Elected Official Advocate of the Year-AJ Griffin; Catalyst of Change-Oklahomans For Autism Insurance Reform, Erin Taylor, and Jenks Public Schools; and Shelby Hard Courage In Advocacy-Teri Burnstein.

To nominate a person or organization for the 2017 Advocacy Awards please click HERE. All nominations must be received by Friday, October 13, 2017.