Each year, TARC recognizes those who have provided outstanding service and advocacy for Oklahomans with developmental disabilities. There are thirteen categories for which nominees can be considered. Anyone, including members of the public, can nominate advocates for an award. Nominees should be individuals who have done something remarkable in helping achieve TARC’s mission of ensuring a high quality of life for Oklahomans with developmental disabilities and their families.

TARC Advocacy Award Descriptions

Click here to nominate one or more individuals or organizations you believe should be recognized for their efforts in helping others.

To learn about our sponsorship opportunities, please click here.

Click here to RSVP/purchase tickets for the 28th Annual Advocacy Awards and Volunteer Recognition Ceremony


Save the Date for 2018 Advocacy Awards

December 11, 2018 at the Marriott Hotel Southern Hills in Tulsa, OK



2017 Advocacy Awards

KOTV “Six in the Morning” personality LeAnne Taylor served as the master of ceremonies for TARC’s 27th Annual Advocacy Awards on Dec. 7, 2017. More than 250 guests gathered in the ballroom for entertainment from duo Branjae & Scott, the opportunity to bid in a silent auction, dinner, and program including keynote from Joey Travolta. James and Joseph Meadours received the Lifetime Achievement Award for their years of committed advocacy to people with developmental disabilities. Long-time volunteers were also recognized for their service and awards were given to advocates committed to ensuring a high quality of life for individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.

Advocacy Award Winners

Additional Awardees

Board Member Terry Trego, Woodward Self-Advocate Donald Smalley, Vinita
Case Manager Sonya Rios, Tulsa Media Advocate Oklahoma Watch, Norman
Direct Care Provider Kerrie White, Noble Parent Advocate Erica Herrera, OKC
Educator Carolyn Piguet, Vinita Special Achievement in Advocacy – Individual Ed Long, OKC
Professional Provider Kim Wotring, Tulsa Special Achievement in Advocacy – Group True Blue Neighbors, Tulsa
Volunteer Helen Taylor, Tulsa Catalyst of Change Judith Leitner, OKC

Jenifer Randle, OKC

photos courtesy